Lesson- Justify EVERYTHING

September 26, 2009

I’ve learned my lesson.

Consider me taught.

In librarianship, you must justify everything that you do. As my teacher explains, this is because usually when a patron approaches for help, its as a last resort. They do not want to come to you. Therefore, you must show them exactly what you are doing, so that they understand and are more comfortable with the process. Also, then they can duplicate the work that you have done if they have another question that comes up later.

So the biggest part of the lesson? Not only do I have to justify myself to the patron… I must justify EVERYTHING I submit for homework also. Even the seemingly simplest question…

Not bitter, would have been nice to know BEFORE we turned in the first exercise though.

Leave a Reply

